Understand the grades of Orthodox Indian tea

Orthodox black tea in India, mainly, is subject to a precise classification, which provides us with essential information on the quality of the tea we buy. These grades are necessary to understand the different quality of tea and to be able to choose your tea better. 

Two classifications will be differentiated, depending on whether the leaves are whole (Whole leaves) or broken (Broken leaves) 

Broken Leaf
GFBOPGolden flowery broken orange pekoe
GFBOPGolden broken orange pekoe
FBOPFlowery broken orange pekoe
BOP1Broken orange pekoe one
BOPBroken orange pekoe
BPSBroken pekoe souchong

The broken leaves are therefore no longer whole, which will alter the quality of the leaves. The tea from broken leaf will give a more full-bodied liquor and more uniform aromas. The best quality broken leaves are, therefore, classified as GBOP or GFBOP. On the other hand, BPS (broken pekoe souchong) are the lower leaves of the plant. These leaves are less fresh, there are no buds, and are of poor quality

The whole leaves provide the best quality of tea. The whole leaves are picked on the upper part of the plant. The harvest will, therefore, consist of the last two leaves and the buds (Flowery). The quality of the picking will then depend on the appearance and size of the tea leaves. Indeed, the smallest and finest leaves represent the best quality. The teas, classified as FTGFOP, FTGFOP1, SFTGFOP, and SFTGFOP1, are, therefore, the best possible quality. 

Whole Leaf
SFTGFOPSpecial fine tippy golden flowery orange pekoe
FTGFOPFine tippy golden flowery orange pekoe
TGFOPTippy golden flowery orange pekoe
GFOPGolden flowery orange pekoe
FOPFlowery orange pekoe
OPOrange pekoe

At Khalissa, we offer teas among the most prestigious that’s why all of our single estate teas are classified FTGFOP or SFTGFOP to enjoy an authentic moment of exception.