Posted on Leave a comment

Understand the grades of Orthodox Indian tea

Orthodox black tea in India, mainly, is subject to a precise classification, which provides us with essential information on the quality of the tea we buy. These grades are necessary to understand the different quality of tea and to be able to choose your tea better. 

Two classifications will be differentiated, depending on whether the leaves are whole (Whole leaves) or broken (Broken leaves) 

Broken Leaf
GFBOPGolden flowery broken orange pekoe
GFBOPGolden broken orange pekoe
FBOPFlowery broken orange pekoe
BOP1Broken orange pekoe one
BOPBroken orange pekoe
BPSBroken pekoe souchong

The broken leaves are therefore no longer whole, which will alter the quality of the leaves. The tea from broken leaf will give a more full-bodied liquor and more uniform aromas. The best quality broken leaves are, therefore, classified as GBOP or GFBOP. On the other hand, BPS (broken pekoe souchong) are the lower leaves of the plant. These leaves are less fresh, there are no buds, and are of poor quality

The whole leaves provide the best quality of tea. The whole leaves are picked on the upper part of the plant. The harvest will, therefore, consist of the last two leaves and the buds (Flowery). The quality of the picking will then depend on the appearance and size of the tea leaves. Indeed, the smallest and finest leaves represent the best quality. The teas, classified as FTGFOP, FTGFOP1, SFTGFOP, and SFTGFOP1, are, therefore, the best possible quality. 

Whole Leaf
SFTGFOPSpecial fine tippy golden flowery orange pekoe
FTGFOPFine tippy golden flowery orange pekoe
TGFOPTippy golden flowery orange pekoe
GFOPGolden flowery orange pekoe
FOPFlowery orange pekoe
OPOrange pekoe

At Khalissa, we offer teas among the most prestigious that’s why all of our single estate teas are classified FTGFOP or SFTGFOP to enjoy an authentic moment of exception.

Posted on Leave a comment

Orthodox tea and CTC tea Process

Tea is a noble and complex product that has its own vocabulary. It can be challenging to decipher the different names and classifications of tea. In addition, these designations and classifications vary, depending on the type of tea and the region in which it is grown.

However, it is relevant to understand these differences to choose the tea that suits you concerning its quality, appearance, provenance, and taste.

You may have heard of orthodox tea or CTC tea without knowing what it meant. These are two processes of tea making, opposed, and give you very significant information about the quality of your tea.

Orthodox tea is the most authentic experience. This is the traditional method, a demanding process that requires a lot of labor and know-how but offers the best result. All high-quality teas are made through this process.

During the Orthodox treatment, the tea leaves will follow several stages of elaboration. These phases of tea making are always handled by very experienced people in order not to alter the quality of the tea leaf and get the best flavors. These treatment steps will vary depending on the type of tea, black, green, oolong, or white.

The CTC method, meanwhile, is a more industrial, faster, and more cost-effective method, used mainly for black teas in a standard quality sachet. The leaves are passed through rollers with spikes, which will crush, tear and wrap the leaves (Crush, Tear, Curl). It will produce teas with a more uniform taste, stronger, and more bitter. Indeed, the orthodox treatment, as for him, will give the tea a more complex and delicate flavor.

The orthodox technic and the CTC technic will produce Tea, very different in terms of aromas, savor, and appearance.

At Khalissa, Dubai, all our teas are produced following the Orthodox method, to provide you with the best quality.